2 MONTHS LATER

Two months ago, I came to this blog excited and at the same time weary to write about starting a new journey of living a healthier lifestyle. I wrote about how excited I was to finally get on track and signed up to the gym and having healthy habits introduced into my daily routine.

I was quite hesitant to be honest, if weeks later I would still be on this path or it would be one of those things which I let go of, as unfortunately I have been guilty of doing in the past. I felt like I would have disappointed myself and the few readers of this blog, if there are any out there that is. I would have blabbered about how I’m so determined to do this and then it would have fizzled out.

What happened now? Well, I am very pleased to inform you that indeed I have kept the routine. I know it’s just two months but I’m pretty proud of myself. I honestly thought that after my month membership would have finished up, I would find myself being lazy and not renew it. Quite the opposite. I renewed it a day before it expired and I just renewed it again the other day! So yes, I am very pleased. I kept the weekly routine quite steady, going three times a week after work. There were two instances where I only went twice in a week, but I have a rower at home so I made up for it in another way.

Results? Yes! I am not keen on posting before and after pictures and to be honest there isn’t a big difference. As I mentioned in my previous post I wanted to get this gym routine going because I was unhappy with a small area of my body and wished to tighten up a bit and because I knew that it would make me feel better mentally. I was over the moon when I started seeing my jeans actually becoming baggy (and so have my underpants) which to me is a big plus! With regards to my mental health, I’ve dealt with stress way better since I started going to the gym. It has made me become a more focused and energised person. When faced with an issue, I’m much better at looking at it from a rational point of view.

I also really got into the habit of eating at healthy times and having more white meats in my diet and vegetables (yes, I know – veggies!). I try my best to refrain from drinking a lot of alcohol when going out or dilute it with water – as a colleague of mine suggested. When I have that occasional naughty meal, I order water along with it instead of a sugary soft drink.

So as you can see, I didn’t really do major changes, but rather amended small things and introduced exercise. I would have never committed to doing a strict diet because I know myself, and it just wouldn’t happen. True that changes might happen much slower, but at least my lifestyle is much healthier than it was at the beginning of the year.

For those troopers out there who are in the same boat as I am, don’t give up! Take baby steps and you’ll get there – there’s no rush.

Till the next,

Michelle X

2 thoughts on “2 MONTHS LATER

Leave a Reply

