Honey Bronze Drops of Sun | Review

So a while ago I walked into The Body Shop at PAMA while running some errands, which has been a century since I walked in – well actually that’s a lie. The only reason I walk into The Body Shop is around Christmas time to buy a present for someone which I have no clue what to get for. I mean, what’s the easiest scapegoat than buying soaps and lotions for a gift?

I didn’t walk in without any intention, I knew what I was looking for which is the ‘Honey Bronze Drops of Sun‘. They came out with this Honey Bronze range for quite some time which is intended for people who aren’t naturally tanned to keep their tan while away on holiday. As you can clearly see, I don’t need a huge amount of tanning, but I do like to retain my natural summer tan.

18155656_10154790684299087_1542224751_n18155225_10154790684314087_434174446_n

The product comes in a small bottle (containing 100ml) and you can either apply the product onto a brush or on your hand then transfer it with a brush. I was recommended by the sales person an angled contouring brush, which funnily enough I needed. Do I agree with the recommendation? Not entirely. It made distributing the product a bit trickier so a stippling brush would be better I would say. It got me a good while to understand the best amount of product to put on the brush and how to best distribute it on my face. I essentially apply the product under my cheekbones –  just as you would when applying a powder or a cream contour – and on my forehead, working it in until it looks natural and flawless.

You instantly see the product adding that natural tan to your face, so be careful not to add too much. I suggest that you build up the product so you reach the perfect level of natural tan that you want to achieve. A plus is that it’s not orangey at all, so it doesn’t look like fake tan or anything. I can’t really say how it would turn out on fair skin because I have  an olive-medium complexion, but I’m guessing that it would be pretty much the same.

18142946_10154790684384087_1043109397_n18143199_10154790684294087_1742197532_n

TIPS:

  • It takes a while to get used to the product application without having funny brush streaks on your face. So don’t worry, you just need to practice and if you do do that mistake, you could fix up that error with a powder bronzer on top.
  • Another way how you could use the product is by mixing it with your foundation to give it a darker tint, which is especially handy since now Summer is approaching and you have to notch up that shade a bit darker to match with the rest of your body.

 

What I do like is that especially for an everyday look I like how it sits on my face. It does feel a bit wet at first sometimes and I do get scared that it’s going to mess up my makeup but it dries up instantly and my makeup stays in check.

I would recommend this product to anyone, especially if they have a tanned complexion like me. Whether you like playing around with makeup and are confident or even you don’t want to go into all that contouring detail and whatnot but you still want some natural definition for a low-key bronzed look, this could be what you’ve been waiting for.  Just a heads up, it’s going to take a few tries before you get it right.

 

Till the next!

Michelle X

Leave a Reply

